Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chair: The Honourable E. LEO KOLBER

Wednesday, February 9, 2000
Thursday, February 10, 2000

Issue No. 5

Eighth and ninth meetings on: Examination of the present state of the domestic and international financial system (Export Development Corporation)


Wednesday, February 9, 2000

From the Bank of Montreal:

Mr. Peter Wren, Managing Director, Trade Finance.

From the Bank of Nova Scotia:

Mr. Tim Plumptre, Senior Vice-President, Trade Finance and Correspondent Banking.

From the CIBC:

Mr. David Robbie, Vice-President, Trade Finance Division.

From the Royal Bank Group:

Mr. Bernard Kruyne, Managing Director, Global Trade Finance, RBC Dominion Securities.

From the Toronto Dominion Bank:

Mr. John Leckie, Managing Director, Financial Institution and Trade Finance.

Thursday, February 10, 2000

From the Export Development Corporation:

Mr. A. Ian Gillespie, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Mr. Eric Siegel, Executive Vice-President, Medium and Long-Term Financial Services;

Mr. Gilles Ross, Senior Vice-President, Legal Services and Secretary;

Ms Louise Landry, Vice-President, Corporate Performance and Communications.


The Honourable E. Leo Kolber, Chair

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:


* Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays) Furey Grafstein Hervieux-Payette, P.C. Joyal, P.C. Kelleher, P.C. Kenny Kroft

* Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella) Meighen Oliver

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fitzpatrick substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Grafstein (February 9, 2000).

Back to top