Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999

Chairman: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Monday, November 29, 1999

Issue No. 2

Third meeting on: Subject matter of Bill C-6, An Act to support and promote electronic commerce by protecting personal information that is collected, used or disclosed in certain circumstances, by providing for the use of electronic means to communicate or record information or transactions and by amending the Canada Evidence Act, the Statutory Instruments Act and Statute Revision Act

First meeting on: The developments since the tabling in June 1995 of the final report of the Special Senate Committee on Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide, entitled: Of Life and Death


From the British Columbia Civil Liberties Associtation:

Murray Mollard, Policy Director.

From the BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association:

Darrell Evans, Executive Director.

From the Public Interest Advocacy Centre:

Philippa Lawson.

From the Canadian Health Coalition:

Michael McBane, National Co-ordinator.

From the Insurance Bureau of Canada and Association of Canadian Insurers:

George D. Anderson, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Insurance Bureau of Canada.

From the Canadian Coalition Against Insurance Fraud:

Mary Lou O'Reilly, Executive Director.

From the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association:

Charles Black, Senior Advisor, Insurance Operations.

Jean-Pierre Bernier, Vice-President and General Counsel

From the Canadian Dental Association:

Dr. John Diggens, President.

From the Canadian Medical Association :

Dr. Peter Vaughan, Secretary General and CEO;

Carole Lucock, Legal Counsel

From the College of Family Physicians of Canada:

Dr. Winston Dykeman, Co-Chair of Committee on Health Information, Privacy and Security.

From the Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC):

Gaylen Duncan, President and Chief Executive Officer.

From AOL Canada:

Stephen J. Bartkiw, Chief Executive Officer.

From Microsoft:

Michael Eisen, Canadian Director, Law and Corporate Affairs.

From Equifax Canada Inc.:

Jackson L. Chercover, Barrister and Sollicitor.

From the Canadian Bankers Association:

Alan Young, Vice-President, Policy.

Andrew Finlay, Assistant General Counsel, Employment Law Group, The Bank of Nova Scotia.

From the Canadian Marketing Association:

John Gustavson, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Mona Goldstein, Chair, Privacy and Ethics Committee.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chairman

The Honourable Marjory LeBreton, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Callbeck, Carstairs, Cohen, Cook, Finestone, P.C., Gill, Keon, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Murray, P.C., Pépin

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Pépin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Chalifoux (November 29, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Chalifoux substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Pépin (November 29, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Finestone, P.C., substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (November 26, 1999).

Back to top