Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999-2000

Chairman: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY
Wednesday, April 5, 2000

Issue No. 11

First meeting on: Bill C-13, An Act to establish the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, to repeal the Medical Research Council Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


From Health Canada:

Ian Shugart, Assistant Deputy Minister.

From the Canadian Institutes of Health Research:

Dr. Henry Friesen, Chair, CIHR IGC; President, Medical Research Council of Canada;

Peter Glynn, IGC Member; Chair, External Relations Committee, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada;

Bartha Maria Knoppers, IGC Member;

Janet Halliwell, Special Advisor to the President of Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

From the Canadian Healthcare Association:

Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, President and CEO.

From the Canadian Nurses Association:

Mary Ellen Jeans, President.

From the Coalition for Biomedical and Health Research:

Charles Pitts, Executive Director.

From the Canadian Alliance for Mental Illness and Mental Health:

Phil Upshall, Chair Elect.

From the Assembly of First Nations:

Professor Jeff Reading, Health Research Advisor.

From the Prairie Women's Health Centre of Excellence:

Linda DuBick, Director.

From the National Council on Ethics in Human Research:

Dr. Henry Dinsdale, Immediate Past-President;

Dr. Richard Carpentier, Executive Director.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chairman

The Honourable Marjory LeBreton, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Callbeck, Carstairs, Cohen, Cook, Fairbairn, P.C., Gill, Keon, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Pépin, Robertson

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Callbeck substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Corbin (April 5, 2000).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pépin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Milne (April 5, 2000).