Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 12 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 3, 2000


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 5:32 p.m., in room 356-S, Centre Block, the Chair, the Honourable Lise Bacon, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Adams, Bacon, Callbeck, Forrestall, Furey, Poulin, Roberge and Spivak (8).

In attendance: The official reporters of the Senate and Martin Brennan, special advisor to the committee.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on April 4, 2000, the committee proceeded to study Bill S-17. (See Issue No. 10, Wednesday, March 1, 2000 and Tuesday, April 11, 2000 for full text of the Order of Reference .)


From the Canadian Board of Marine Underwriters:

Arthur Payne, President;

Doug McRae, Chairman of the CBMU Legislative Committee.

The witnesses made a presentation and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to discuss future business.

I was agreed -- That the committee proceed to clause by clause consideration on Bill S-17 on May 9, 2000.

It was moved by Senator Spivak, -- That the Subcommittee on Communications be authorized to revise the budget application for the special study on communication policy for submission to the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration.

The question being put on the motion, it was resolved in the affirmative.

At 6:20 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michel Patrice

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top