Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 15 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Monday, June 5, 2000


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 6:30 p.m., in Room 256-S, Centre Block, the Chair, the Honourable Lise Bacon, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Adams, Bacon, Callbeck, Finestone, P.C., Forrestall, Perrault, P.C., Roberge and Spivak (8).

In attendance: The official reporters of the Senate and Martin Brennan, Special advisor.


From WestJet:

Stephen C. Smith, President.

From the Consumers' Association of Canada:

Gail Lacombe, President;

Jennifer Hillard, Vice-President, Issues and Policy.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2000, the committee proceeded to study Bill C-26. (See Issue No. 14, Monday, June 5 , 2000 for full text of the Order of Reference.)

The witnesses made a presentation and answered questions.

At 8:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Michel Patrice

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top