Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001-02

Chair: The Honourable THELMA J. CHALIFOUX

Tuesday, February 5, 2002

Issue No. 11

First meeting on:

Bill C-37, An Act to facilitate the implementation of those provisions of First Nations' claim settlements in the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan that relate to the creation of reserves or the addition of land to existing reserves, and to make related amendments to the Manitoba Claim Settlements Implementation Act and the Saskatchewan Treaty Land Entitlement Act


From the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development:

Michel Youssef, Director, Special Implementation Projects Directorate;

Ralph Keesickquayash, Counsel, Legal Services;

Jim Sisson, Director, Claims and Indian Government, Alberta Region;

Evelyn Shalapata, Director, Treaty Land Entitlement, Specific Claims, Saskatchewan Region.


The Honourable Thelma J. Chalifoux, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Carney, P.C., Léger, *Carstairs, P.C. , *Lynch-Staunton , (or Robichaud, P.C.), (or Kinsella), Christensen, Pearson, Cochrane, Sibbeston, Gill, St. Germain, P.C., Hubley, Tkachuk

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top