Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001-02

Chair: The Honourable THELMA J. CHALIFOUX

Tuesday, March 5, 2002
Wednesday, March 6, 2002

Issue No. 13

Ninth and tenth meetings on:Examination of issues affecting urban Aboriginal youth, in particular, access, provision and delivery of services, policy and jurisdictional issues, employment and education, access to economic opportunities, youth participation and empowerment,
and other related matters


From the Department of Health Canada:

Mr. Scott Broughton, Assistant Deputy Minister, Population and Public Health Branch;

Mr. Claude Rocan, Director General, Centre for Healthy Human Development, Population and Public Health Mr. Branch;

Mr. Keith Conn, Acting Director General, Community Health Programs Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Ms Wendy Birkinshaw, Senior Policy Analyst, Division of Childhood and Adolescence, Population and Public Health Branch.

From the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs:

Ms Chantal Bernier, Assistant Deputy Minister, Socio-Economic Policy and Programs Sector;

Ms Barbara Caverhill, Acting Director, Learning, Employment and Human Development.


The Honourable Thelma J. Chalifoux, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


Carney, P.C., *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Christensen, Cochrane, Gill, Hubley, Léger, *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella), Pearson, Sibbeston, St. Germain, P.C., Tkachuk

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Callbeck substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Hubley (March 4, 2002).

The name of the Honourable Senator Hubley substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Callbeck (March 6, 2002).

Back to top