Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON
Tuesday, October 23, 2001

Issue No. 16

Second meeting on: Bill S-22, An Act to provide for the recognition of the Canadian Horse as the national horse of Canada


From the Canadian Horse Breeders of Ontario:

Dr. Kelly Ferguson, D.V.M., President;

Alex Hayward, Historian.

From Woodmont Angus Farm:

Danton Wilson.

From the Upper Canada (Ontario) District Canadian Horse Breeders (UCD):

Regent (Ray) Lalonde, President.

From the Association québécoise du cheval canadien:

Darkise St-Arnaud, Chair;

Yves Bernatchez;

André Auclair, Vice-Chairman.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chair

The Honourable Jack Wiebe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Biron, * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Chalifoux, Day, Hubley, Johnson, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Oliver, Phalen, Stratton, Tkachuk, Tunney

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Phalen was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn (October 21, 2001).

The name of the Honourable Senator Biron was added (October 18, 2001).