Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001-02

Chair: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Wednesday, February 13, 2002

Issue No. 30

Thirtieth meeting on:
International trade in agricultural and agri-food products, and short-term and long-term measures for the health of the agricultural and the agri-food industry in all regions of Canada


From the Nova Scotia Agricultural College:

Dr. H. Garth Coffin, Principal.

From the Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture:

Mr. Fraser Hunter, Chair, Industry Planning Committee;

Mr. Laurence Nason, Executive Director.

From the Atlantic Canada Organic Regional Network (ACORN):

Ms Jennifer Melanson, Director.

From the Fédération des agriculteurs et agricultrices francophones du Nouveau-Brunswick:

Mr. Paul-Émile Soucy, President.

From Potatoes New Brunswick:

Mr. Patton MacDonald, Executive Director.

From Aliant Telecom:

Mr. Alan Buchanan, Director, Government Relations;

Mr. Mike Howard, Senior Government Relations Advisor.

From the Nova Scotia Christmas Tree Council:

Mr. Shawn Lacey, President;

Mr. Len Giffen, Coordinator.

From the Organic Agriculture Centre of Canada:

Dr. Phil Warman, Professor.

From the Nova Scotia Agricultural College:

Dr. Robert Gordon, Professor.

From the University of Prince Edward Island — Atlantic Veterinary College:

Dr. Tim Ogilvie, Dean.

From the Agricultural Development Institute:

Ms Heather Anne Grant, Special Projects Researcher.

From Nova Scotia Egg Producers:

Mr. Ralph De Long, President.


The Honourable Senator Leonard J. Gustafson, Chair

The Honourable Senator John Wiebe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Biron, *Carstairs, P.C., (or Robichaud, P.C.), Chalifoux, Day, Hubley, LeBreton , *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella), Oliver, Phalen, Stratton,  Tkachuk, Tunney

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Biron was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Sparrow (December 14, 2001).