Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chairman: The Honourable E. LEO KOLBER
Wednesday, May 9, 2001

Issue No. 12

Fourth meeting on: Bill C-8, An Act to establish the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada and to amend certain Acts in relation to financial institutions


From the Consumers' Association of Canada:

Gail Lacombe, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Jenny Hillard, Vice-President, Issues and Policy;

Kim Boydell, Director of Policy Research.

From the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Instutions:

Julie Dickson, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector;

Normand Bergevin, Director, Legislation and Regulations, Legislation and Precedents Division.


The Honourable E. Leo Kolber, Chairman

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Furey, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kelleher, P.C., Kroft, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Meighen, Oliver, Poulin, Setlakwe, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Taylor substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Wiebe (May 9, 2001).