Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament 2001-02

Chair: The Honourable E. LEO KOLBER

Wednesday, June 5, 2002

Issue No. 45

Fifteenth meeting on:

The present state of the domestic and international financial system


First meeting on

Bill C-47, An Act respecting the taxation of spirits, wine and tobacco and the treatment of ships' stores


Bryon Wilfert, M.P.,
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance


On the State of the domestice and international financial system:

From the TSX Group:

Ms Barbara Stymiest, Chief Executive Officer.

Om Bill C-47:

From the Department of Finance:

Mr. Brian Willis, Senior Chief, Excise Act, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch;

Ms Patricia Malone, Chief, Excise Act Review, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch.

From the Association of Canadian Airport Duty-Free Operators:

Mr. André Bergeron, Vice-President;

Ms Kathy Kendall, the Nuance Group (Canada);

Mr. Remo Mancini, Executive Vice-President, Canadian Transit Company.

From the Canadian Cancer Society:

Mr. Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst.


The Honourable E. Leo Kolber, Chair

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Carstairs, P.C., (or Robichaud, P.C.), Fitzpatrick, Furey, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kelleher, P.C., Kroft, *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella), Meighen, Poulin, Setlakwe, Stratton

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes of membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Stratton substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Oliver (June 5, 2002).

The name of the Honourable Senator Kroft substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Banks (June 3, 2002).