Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable NICHOLAS W. TAYLOR
Tuesday, April 24, 2001

Issue No. 3

Fourth meeting on: Issues as may arise from time to time relating to energy, the environment and natural resources, including the continuation and completion of the study on Nuclear Reactor Safety

Second meeting on: Bill S-15, An Act to enable and assist the Canadian tobacco industry in attaining its objective of preventing the use of tobacco products by young persons in Canada


Morning Meeting:

From the National Energy Board:

Kenneth Vollman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer;

Judith Hanebury, General Counsel, Legal Counsel;

Glen Booth, Chief Economist;

Bill Bingham, Team Leader, Gas Commodities Business Unit;

Terry Rochefort, Business Leader, Commodities Business Unit.

From the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers:

Greg Stringham, Vice-President, Markets and Fiscal Policy.

From Canadian Hydro Developers:

John Keating, Chief Executive Officer.

Afternoon Meeting:

From the Alberta Tobacco Reduction Alliance:

Joanne Pawelek, Executive Director.

From the Canadian Cancer Society -- Alberta Division:

Jennifer Duncan, Community Education Coordinator.

From the Chinook Regional Health Authority:

Paul Hasselback, Medical Officer of Health.

From the Youth Action Advocacy Project:

Shawna Dekort;

Phil O'Hara;

Robyn LeClair.

From the Calgary Regional Health Authority:

Diane Cassidy, Youth Tobacco Project Coordinator.

From the Women's Initiative in Tobacco:

Sirisha Tunugunt, Member;

Gorana Radovic, Member.

From the Alberta Lung Association:

Becky Freeman, Project Coordinator, In-House Initiatives.

From the Building Leadership for Action in Schools Today:

Kim Ehrardt, Member;

Renae Lazorko, Member.

From the North of McNight Youth Group:

Justienne Galbraith, Member;

Juan Delgado, Member.

From the Calgary Regional Health Authority:

Dr. Brent Friesen, Medical Officer of Health.


The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Chair

The Honourable Mira Spivak, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Banks, Buchanan, P.C., * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Christensen, Cochrane, Eyton, Finnerty, Kelleher, c.p., Kenny, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Sibbeston

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top