Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable NICHOLAS W. TAYLOR
Friday, April 27, 2001

Issue No. 6

Seventh and eighth meetings on: Issues as may arise from time to time relating to energy, the environment and natural resources, including the continuation and completion of the study on Nuclear Reactor Safety

Sixth meeting on: Bill S-15, An Act to enable and assist the Canadian tobacco industry in attaining its objective of preventing the use of tobacco products by young persons in Canada


Morning meeting:

From the Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association:

Mark Nantais, President;

C.B. (Blake) Smith, Director, Environment, Energy and Vehicle Safety, Ford of Canada;

Michael G. Ford, General Motors of Canada, Manager of Facilities Engineering and Utilities;

Larry A. Robertson, Manager, Vehicle Environmental and Energy Programs, DaimlerChrysler Canada Inc.

From the University of Toronto, Department of Economics, Faculty of Law:

Professor Donald N. Dewees.

From the Independent Power Producers' Society of Ontario:

Jake Brooks, Executive Director;

Robert Cary, Director and Member, Independent Market Operator (IMO) Technical Panel.

Afternoon meeting:

From the Canadian Gas Association:

Marie Rounding, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Rudy Riedl, President, Enbridge Consumers Gas;

John Wellard, Senior Vice-President, Sales, Marketing and Business Development, Union Gas Limited.

From Toronto Public Health:

Dr. Sheela Basrur, Medical Officer of Health;

Carole Timmins, Regional Director.

From the Toronto District School Board:

Ryan Hicks, Student Trustee.

From the Ontario Medical Association:

Dr. Albert J. Schumacher, President;

Dr. Ted Boadway, Executive Director, Health Policy Department.


The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Chair

The Honourable Mira Spivak, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Banks, Buchanan, P.C., * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Christensen, Cochrane, Eyton, Finnerty, Kelleher, P.C., Kenny, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Sibbeston

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)