Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chairman: The Honourable LOWELL MURRAY, P.C.
Thursday, October 18, 2001

Issue No. 22

Third meeting on: The effectiveness and possible improvements to the present equalization policy in ensuring that provincial governments have sufficient revenues to provide reasonably comparable levels of public service at reasonably comparable levels of taxation


Roger Grimes, Prime Minister of Newfoundland and Labrador Joan Marie Aylward, Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board


The Honourable Lowell Murray, P.C., Chairman

The Honourable Isobel Finnerty, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Bolduc, * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Cools, Day, Ferretti Barth, Furey, Kinsella, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Mahovlich, Stratton, Tunney

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Adams substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Banks (October 18, 2001).

The name of the Honourable Senator Banks substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Wiebe (October 18, 2001).