Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY
Monday, November 5, 2001

Issue No. 41

Thirty-fourth meeting on: The state of the health care system in Canada


From the Department of Health and Community Services, Newfoundland:

Mr. Robert C. Thompson, Deputy Minister;

Ms Beverly Clarke, Assistant Deputy Minister;

Dr. Catherine Donovan.

From the Victorian Order of Nurses for Canada:

Ms Patricia Pilgrim, President, St. John's Branch;

Ms Bernice Blake Dibblee, Executive Director, St. John's Branch.

From the Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Ms Sharon Smith, President.

From the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Newfoundland:

Mr. Wayne Lucas, President.

As an Individual:

Ms Maud Peach.

From the National Cancer Institute of Canada:

Dr. Roy West, President.

From Weight Watchers:

Ms Marlene Bayers, Regional Manager.

From the Newfoundland Cancer Treatment and Research Foundation:

Ms Bertha H. Paulse, Chief Executive Officer.

As an Individual:

Ms Karen McGrath, Executive Director, Department of Health and Community Services, St. John's Region, Newfoundland.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Marjory LeBreton, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Cook, Cordy, Di Nino, Fairbairn, P.C., Keon, Léger, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Morin, Robertson, Roche.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C., substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Maheu (November 2, 2001).

The name of the Honourable Senator Cordy substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Pépin (November 2, 2001).