Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2001

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY
Thursday, November 8, 2001

Issue No. 44

Thirty-seventh meeting on: The state of the health care system in Canada


From the Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick:

Dr. Margaret Dykeman.

From the New Brunswick Health Care Association:

Mr. Robert Simpson, Chief Executive Officer.

From the Canadian Association of Chain Drug Stores:

Ms Sherry Porter, Atlantic Canada Representative;

Ms Sandra Aylward, Vice President, Pharmacy Services.

As Individuals:

Dr. Russell King, Former Minister of Health, Province of New Brunswick;

Mr. William Morrissey, Former Deputy Minister of Health, Province of New Brunswick.

From Applied Management:

Mr. Bryan Ferguson, Partner.

From the Société des Acadiens et Acadiennes du Nouveau- Brunswick:

Mr. Daniel Thériault, Director General.

From the Canadian Snowbird Association:

Mr. Bob Jackson, President.

From the New Brunswick Senior Citizens Federation Inc:

Ms Helen Ladouceur, Member;

Ms Eileen Malone, Member.

From the Catholic Health Association of Canada:

Ms Sandra Keon, Secretary Treasurer and Vice-President Clinical Programs at Pembroke Hospital.

From the Miramichi Police Force:

Corporal Michael Gallagher, Drug Section.

From the Canadian Union of Public Employees, New Brunswick:

Mr. Raymond Léger, Research Representative.

From the Federal Superannuates National Association:

Mr. Rex G. Guy, National President;

Mr. Roger Heath, Research and Communications Officer.

From the Union of New Brunswick Indians:

Mr. Nelson Solomon, Director of Health;

Ms Wanda Paul Rose, Coordinator;

Mr. Norville Getty, Consultant.

From the Nurses Association of New Brunswick:

Ms Roxanne Tarjan, Director General.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Marjory LeBreton, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, * Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Cook, Cordy, Di Nino, Fairbairn, P.C., Keon, Léger, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Morin, Robertson, Roche

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)