Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2002-03

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Thursday, September 25, 2003

Issue No. 21

Third meeting concerning: Public health emergencies arising from infectious disease


As an individual:

Dr. David Butler-Jones, Former Chief Medical Officer for Saskatchewan.

From the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Ontario:

Dr. Colin D'Cunha, Commissioner of Health, Chief Medical Officer and Assistant Deputy Minister.

From the Insitut national de santé publique du Québec (by videoconference):

Dr. Richard Massé, Chief Executive Officer.

From the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control:

Mr. Ron Zapp, Provincial Executive Director.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Marjory LeBreton, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Cook, Fairbairn, P.C., Keon, Léger, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Morin, Robertson, Roche, Rossiter, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cordy (September 18, 2003).

Back to top