Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Foreign Affairs

Second Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2002-03

Chair: The Honourable PETER A. STOLLERY

Monday, February 3, 2003
Tuesday, February 4, 2003
Wednesday, February 5, 2003

Issue No. 2

Third, fourth and fifth meetings on: The examination of the Canada-United States of America trade relationship and on the Canada-Mexico trade relationship


The Honourable Pierre Pettigrew, P.C., M.P., Minister for International Trade


February 3 meeting

As individuals:

Peter Clark, Partner, Grey, Clark, Shih and Associates, Ltd.;

Professor Donald McRae, Business and Trade Law, University of Ottawa;

Kathleen Macmillan, President, International Trade Policy Consultants;

Professor Gilbert Gagné, Department of Political Studies, Bishop University.

From the Centre for Trade Policy and Law:

William A. Dymond, Executive Director.

From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Claude Carrière, Director General, Trade Policy Bureau;

Bruce Levy, Director, Transborder Relations with the United States.

February 4 meeting

As individuals:

The Honourable Roy MacLaren, former Minister of International Trade;

Lawrence L. Herman, Associate Counsel, Cassels, Brock & Blackwell LLP;

Jon Johnson, Partner, Goodmans LLP.

February 5 meeting

From Agriculture and Agri-food Canada:

Rory McAlpine, Acting Director General, International Trade Policy;

Ian Thomson, Acting Director, Western Hemisphere Trade Policy Division.

From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Paul Haddow, Executive Director, International Affairs.

From the Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Robert Friesen, President;

Jennifer Higginson, Policy Analyst;

Marvin Shauf, Second Vice-President.

From the Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance:

Ted Menzies, President;

Patty Townsend, Executive Director.


The Honourable Peter A. Stollery, Chair

The Honourable Consiglio Di Nino, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Carney, P.C., *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Corbin, De Bané, P.C., Grafstein, Graham, P.C., Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Setlakwe, Stratton

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Stratton substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Bolduc (February 4, 2003).

The name of the Honourable Senator Austin substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Day (November 28, 2002).