Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs

Second Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2002-03

Chair: The Honourable PETER A. STOLLERY

Tuesday, April 8, 2003
Wednesday, April 9, 2003

Issue No. 14

Twenty-third and twenty-fourth meetings on: The examination of the Canada-United States of America trade relationship and on the Canada-Mexico trade relationship

(Application for budget application for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2004)


Tuesday, April 8, 2003

From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade:

Marc Lortie, Assistant Deputy Minister (Americas);

Claudio Vallé, Director, Technical Barriers and Regulations;

Graeme C. Clark, Acting Director, Mexico Division;

Carlos Rojas-Arbulú, Trade Commissioner, Mexico Division.

From the Embassy of Mexico in Canada:

S.E. Maria Theresa Garcia S. De Madero, Ambassador of Mexico to Canada;

Carlos Pinera, Representative of the Mexican Secretariat of the Economy in Canada;

Fernando Espinosa, Economic Attaché.

As an individual:

Laura Macdonald, Associate Professor and Director, Centre for North American Politics and Society, Carleton University.

Wednesday, April 9, 2003

From the Canadian Trucking Alliance:

David Bradley, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Elly Meister, Vice-President, Public Affairs.

From the Department of Citizenship and Immigration:

Daniel Jean, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Program Development.


The Honourable Peter A. Stollery, Chair

The Honourable Consiglio DiNino, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Austin, P.C., Andreychuk, Bolduc, Carney, P.C., *Carstairs, P.C. (or Robichaud, P.C.), Corbin, De Bané, P.C., Grafstein, Graham, P.C., Losier-Cool, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Setlakwe

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes to the membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Losier-Cool substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Merchant (April 3, 2003).

The name of the Honourable Senator Setlakwe substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Chaput (April 3, 2003).