Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Third Session, Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable SHIRLEY MAHEU

Monday, April 19, 2004
Monday, May 3, 2004 (in camera)

Issue No. 3

First and second meetings on: The resolution encapsulating the 2002 Berlin OSCE (PA) Resolution


Third meeting on: The study of on-reserve matrimonial real property


April 19, 2004 meeting

The Honourable Senator Jerahmiel Grafstein.

From the Department of Justice:

Lisette Lafontaine, Senior Counsel;

Angela Connidis, Counsel.

From the Department of Canadian Heritage:

Christine Nassrallah, Director, Policy and Research, Multiculturalism and Human Rights Branch;

Artur Wilczynski, Acting Director, International Relations and Policy Development, International Affairs Branch.

From the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, Statistics Canada:

Roy Jones, Director.

From the Canadian Jewish Congress:

Keith Landy, National President;

Manuel Prutschi, National Executive Director;

Eric Vernon, Director of Government Relations.

From B'nai Brith Canada:

Dr. Steve Scheinberg, National Chair of the League for Human Rights;

Joseph Ben-Ami, Director of Communications.

From Canadian Race Relations Foundation:

Dr. Karen Mock, Executive Director.


The Honourable Shirley Maheu, Chair

The Honourable Eileen Rossiter, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Beaudoin, Chaput, Jaffer, LaPierre, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Plamondon, Poy, Rivest

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in the membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Grafstein is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Poy (April 19, 2004).

The name of the Honourable Senator Poy is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Grafstein (April 21, 2004).

The name of the Honourable Senator Chaput is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Ferretti Barth (April 28, 2004).