Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Third Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable GEORGE J. FUREY

Wednesday, March 10, 2004
Thursday, March 11, 2004

Issue No. 3

First and second meetings on:
Bill C-250, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (hate propaganda)


Second and third meetings on:
Bill C-16, An Act respecting the registration of information relating to sex offenders


The Honourable Anne McLellan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.


Wednesday, March 10, 2004

From the Canadian Professional Police Association:

Tony Cannavino, President;

David Griffin, Executive Officer.

From the House of Commons:

Svend Robinson, M.P. (Burnaby—Douglas).

Thursday, March 11, 2004

From the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness:

Mary Campbell, Acting Director General, Corrections and Criminal Justice Directorate.

From the Department of Justice Canada:

Doug Hoover, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.


From the Downtown Vancouver Business Improvement Association:

Dave Jones, Director, Crime Prevention Services.

From Egale:

Laurie Arron, Director of Advocacy;

Trevor Fenton, Member.

From Amnesty International (Canadian Section):

Hilary Homes, Campaigner.


The Honourable George J. Furey, Chair

The Honourable Gérald-A. Beaudoin, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk *Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Baker, P.C., Bryden, Buchanan, P.C., Cools, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Nolin, Pearson, Smith, P.C., Tkachuk

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Jaffer substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Mercer (March 4, 2004).

The name of the Honourable Senator Tkachuk substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Beaudoin (March 10, 2004).

Back to top