Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 20 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 6, 2012

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 6, 2012


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 4:16 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel), Stewart Olsen and Tkachuk (11).

In attendance: John Bulmer and Adriane Yong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 3, 2012, the committee continued its examination of the subject-matter of those elements contained in Divisions 2, 10, 11, 22, 28, and 36 of Part 4 of Bill C-38, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures. (For the complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 18.)


Canadian Bankers Association:

Marion Wrobel, Vice-President, Policy and Operations;

Nathalie Clark, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary.

The deputy chair made an opening statement.

Ms. Clark made a statement, and together with Mr. Wrobel, answered questions.

At 5:49 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Adam Thompson

Clerk of the Committee