Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 22 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 20, 2012

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 20, 2012


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 4:15 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Irving Gerstein, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Ataullahjan, Eggleton, P.C., Gerstein, Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Patterson, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel) and Stewart Olsen (12).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Tkachuk (1).

In attendance: John Bulmer and Adriane Yong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 14, 2012, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-25, An Act relating to pooled registered pension plans and making related amendments to other Acts.


Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Dan Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Bernard Dussault.

Open Access Limited:

Randy VanDerStarren, Executive Vice President;

Charles Laing, Head of Research & Development.

OMERS Administration Corporation:

Anne Soh, Vice-President, Actuarial Services;

Neil Hrab, Manager, Government & Stakeholder Policy and Research.

Regroupement des jeunes chambres de commerce du Québec:

Guillaum Dubreuil, Vice-President, Federal and International Affairs

Pierlot Pension Law:

James Pierlot, Founder and Principal.

The chair made an opening statement.

Messrs. Kelly, Dussault and VanDerStarren each made a statement, and together with Mr. Laing, answered questions.

At 5:22 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:24 p.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Soh, Mr. Dubreuil and Mr. Pierlot each made a statement, and together with Mr. Hrab, answered questions.

At 6:07 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Adam Thompson

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top