Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 29 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 6, 2013

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 6, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 3:15 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Moore, Plett, Ringuette, Rivard and Tkachuk (11).

In attendance: Adriane Yong and Brett Stuckey, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 11, 2012, the committee began its examination of Bill C-28, An Act to amend the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada Act.


The Honourable Ted Menzies, P.C., M.P., Minister of State (Finance).


Financial Consumer Agency of Canada:

Ursula Menke, Commissioner.

Department of Finance Canada:

Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Eleanor Ryan, Senior Chief, Financial Institutions Framework Policy, Financial Institutions Division.

The deputy chair made an opening statement.

The Minister of State made a statement and, together with Ms. Menke and Mr. Rudin, answered questions.

At 4:17 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:20 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Menke, Mr. Rudin and Ms. Ryan answered questions.

At 5:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Barbara Reynolds

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top