Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 32 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 18, 2013

OTTAWA, Tuesday, April 18, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 10 a.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Irving Gerstein, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Gerstein, Greene, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Moore, Nancy Ruth, Oliver and Ringuette (11).

In attendance: Adriane Yong and Brett Stuckey, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, April 17, 2013, the committee began its examination of Bill S-17, An Act to implement conventions, protocols, agreements and a supplementary convention, concluded between Canada and Namibia, Serbia, Poland, Hong Kong, Luxembourg and Switzerland, for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes.


The Honourable Ted Menzies, P.C., M.P., Minister of State (Finance).


Department of Finance Canada:

Ted Cook, Senior Legislative Chief, Tax Legislation Division;

Alain Castonguay, Senior Chief, Tax Treaties.

The Minister of State made a statement and, together with Mr. Castonguay and Mr. Cook, answered questions.

At 11:23 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Keli Hogan

Clerk of the Committee