Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 3 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of January 30, 2014

OTTAWA, Thursday, January 30, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:04 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Buth, Dagenais, Eaton, Maltais, McIntyre, Mercer, Merchant, Mockler, Ogilvie, Oh, Robichaud, P.C., and Tardif (12).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 21, 2013, the committee continued its consideration of the importance of bees and bee health in the production of honey, food and seed in Canada. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.)


Grain Farmers of Ontario:

John Cowan, Vice-President, Strategic Development.

Beef Farmers of Ontario:

Arden Schneckenburger, Director.

Fédération des producteurs de cultures commerciales du Québec:

William Van Tassel, First Vice-President;

Salah Zoghlami, Agronomic Advisor.

Manitoba Corn Growers Association:

Myron Krahn, President;

Dennis Thiessen, Farmer/Director.

Mr. Cowan and Mr. Schneckenburger each made opening statements and, together, answered questions.

At 9:04 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:14 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Van Tassel and Mr. Thiessen each made opening statements and, together with Mr. Krahn and Mr. Zoghlami, answered questions.

At 9:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee