Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 12 - Minutes of Proceedings - Morning Meeting of May 15, 2014

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 15, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:03 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dagenais, Eaton, Maltais, Mercer, Mockler, Ogilvie, Oh, Plett, Robichaud, P.C., and Tardif (10).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament; and Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 13, 2014, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to amend the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Transportation Act and to provide for other measures.


Freight Management Association of Canada:

Robert H. Ballantyne, P. Eng., President.

Canadian Trucking Alliance:

Stephen Laskowski, Vice President, Economic Affairs;

Jonathan Blackham, Policy and Government Relations Assistant.

Prince Rupert Port Authority:

Andrew Mayer, Vice President, Commercial and Regulatory Affairs (by video conference).

Thunder Bay Port Authority:

Tim Heney, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference).

Mr. Ballantyne and Mr. Laskowski each made opening statements and, together with Mr. Blackham, answered questions.

At 9:02 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:07 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Mayer and Mr. Heney each made opening statements and, together, answered questions.

At 9:51 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee