Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 12 - Minutes of Proceedings - Afternoon Meeting of May 15, 2014

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 15, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 2 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Maltais, Mercer, Mockler, Ogilvie, Oh, Plett, Robichaud, P.C., and Tardif (8).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament; and Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 13, 2014, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to amend the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Transportation Act and to provide for other measures.


Barley Council of Canada:

Phil de Kemp, President of the Malting Industry Association of Canada.

Pulse Canada:

Greg Cherewyk, Chief Operating Officer.

Alberta Wheat Commission:

Kevin Bender, Commission Director.

Canadian Federation of Agriculture:

Humphrey Banack, Vice-President (by video conference).

Mr. de Kemp, Mr. Cherewyk, Mr. Bender and Mr. Banack each made opening statements and, together, answered questions.

At 2:58 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:05 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda.

It was agreed that the committee would conduct clause-by-clause consideration of Bill C-30 on Monday, May 26, 2014 from 7 to 9 p.m., on division.

At 3:23 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee