Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 24 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of February 19, 2015

OTTAWA, Thursday, February 19, 2015


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:02 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Enverga, Maltais, Merchant, Mockler, Ogilvie, Oh, Tardif and Unger (10).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly and Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 23, 2014, the committee continued its study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 18.)


Canadian Honey Council:

Rod Scarlett, Executive Director.

Flowers Canada Growers:

Andrew Morse, Manager, Plant Health and Trade.

Canadian Produce Marketing Association:

Jane Proctor, Vice President, Policy and Issues Management;

Ron Lemaire, President.

Mr. Scarlett and Mr. Morse made statements and answered questions.

At 9:02 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:06 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Lemaire made a statement and, together with Ms. Proctor, answered questions.

At 10:03 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee