Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 24 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of February 26, 2015

OTTAWA, Thursday, February 26, 2015


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 8:02 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Maltais, McIntyre, Merchant, Mockler, Ogilvie and Unger (8).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly and Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The chair informed the committee of a vacancy in the deputy chair.

The Honourable Senator Maltais moved:

That the Honourable Senator Tardif be elected as deputy chair.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

At 8:05 a.m., pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 23, 2014, the committee continued its study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 18.)


Canadian Council of Chief Executives:

Brian Kingston, Senior Associate.

Canadian Sugar Institute:

Sandra Marsden, President;

Mike Walton, Member.

International Maple Syrup Institute:

Dave Chapeskie, Executive Director.

The chair made an opening statement.

Mr. Kingston made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:45 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:50 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Marsden, Mr. Walton and Mr. Chapeskie made statements and, together, answered questions.

At 9:46 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee