Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 25 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of March 10, 2015

OTTAWA, Tuesday, March 10, 2015


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 5 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Enverga, Maltais, Merchant, Mockler, Moore, Ogilvie, Oh, Tannas and Tardif (11).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly and Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 23, 2014, the committee continued its study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 18.)


Canadian Vintners Association:

Dan Paszkowski, President and CEO;

Beth McMahon, Vice-President, Government and Public Affairs.

Spirits Canada:

Jan H. Westcott, President and CEO;

CJ Hélie, Executive Vice President.

Food Processors of Canada:

Christopher Kyte, President.

Maple Leaf Foods:

Rory McAlpine, Senior Vice President of Government and Industry Relations.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Wescott and Mr.Paszkowski made statements and, together with Mr. Hélie and Ms. McMahon, answered questions.

At 6:08 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:12 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Alpine and Mr. Kyte made statements and answered questions.

At 7:09 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee