Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue 28 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of May 12, 2015

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 12, 2015


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 5:19 p.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Claudette Tardif, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dagenais, Enverga, Maltais, Moore, Ogilvie, Oh, Tardif and Tkachuk (9).

In attendance: Aïcha Coulibaly and Jed Chong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 23, 2014, the committee continued its study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee Issue No. 18.)


Canadian Bankers Association:

Alex Ciappara, Director, Economic Analysis;

Gwen Paddock, National Director, Agriculture and Resources Industries, Royal Bank of Canada;

Peter Brown, Director, Agriculture, Scotiabank;

Craig Bremner, Vice-President, Agriculture Services, TD Canada Trust;

Darryl Worsley, National Director, Agriculture, CIBC;

Chris Costain, Vice-President, Commercial Agriculture, BMO Commercial Banking.

University of Waterloo:

Bruce Muirhead, Associate Vice-President, External Research.

The deputy chair made a statement.

Mr. Ciappara made a statement and, together with Ms. Paddock, Mr. Brown, Mr. Bremner, Mr. Worsley and Mr. Costain, answered questions.

At 6:08 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:12 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Muirhead made a statement and answered questions.

At 7 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman

Clerk of the Committee