Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue 20 - Minutes of Proceedings - December 3, 2014

OTTAWA, Wednesday, December 3, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 4:17 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Irving Gerstein, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Black, Campbell, Gerstein, Greene, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Maltais, Massicotte, Ringuette, Tannas and Tkachuk (11).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Day (1).

In attendance: Adriane Yong, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, November 19, 2014, the committee continued its examination of Bill C-8, An Act to amend the Copyright Act and the Trade-marks Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 19.)


Canada Goose:

Kevin Spreekmeester, Chief Marketing Officer.

Food & Consumer Products of Canada:

Carla Ventin, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs.

Canadian Intellectual Property Council:

Scott Smith, Director, Intellectual Property and Innovation Policy, Canadian Chamber of Commerce.

As an individual:

Philippe Bensimon, Criminologist.

International Trademark Association:

David Lipkus, Chair, Canada Subcommittee of the Anti-counterfeiting Committee.

Intellectual Property Institute of Canada:

Ryan Evans, Vice-Chair, Anti-Counterfeiting Committee.

Canadian Bar Association:

Georgina Danzig, Chair, Counterfeiting and Trade Offenses Committee, Intellectual Property Section.

The chair made an opening statement.

Mr. Spreekmeester, Ms. Ventin, Mr. Smith and Mr. Bensimon each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:22 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:26 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Lipkus, Mr. Evans and Ms. Danzig each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Danielle Labonté

Clerk of the Committee