Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Issue No. 39 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 14, 2018

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 14, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day at 4:16 p.m., in room 160- S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cools, Cordy, Dawson, Greene, Housakos, Massicotte, Ngo, Oh and Saint-Germain (12).

In attendance: Natalie Mychajlyszyn, Nadia Faucher and Marion Ménard, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 26, 2017, the committee continued its study on the impact and utilization of Canadian culture and arts in Canadian foreign policy and diplomacy, and other related matters. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 34.)


National Gallery of Canada:

Greg A. Hill, Audain Senior Curator, Indigenous Art.

ImagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival:

Kerry Swanson, Chair, Board of Directors.

Aboriginal Curatorial Collective:

Clayton Windatt, Executive Director (by video conference).

Société Nationale de l'Acadie:

Louise Imbeault, President.

Reelworld Film Festival:

Tonya Williams, Executive Director, President and Founder (by video conference).

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Windatt made a statement.

Mr. Hill made a statement.

Ms. Swanson made a statement and, together with Mr. Hill and Mr. Windatt, answered questions.

At 5:20 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:27 p.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Williams made a statement.

Ms. Imbeault made a statement and, together with Ms. Williams, answered questions.

At 6:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Marie-Eve Belzile
Clerk of the Committee