Skip to Content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Issue No. 39 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 15, 2018

OTTAWA, Thursday, February 15, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade met this day at 10:45 a.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cools, Cordy, Dawson, Greene, Housakos, Massicotte, Ngo, Oh and Saint-Germain (12).

In attendance: Natalie Mychajlyszyn, Nadia Faucher and Marion Ménard, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Shaila Anwar, Acting Deputy Principal Clerk, and Victor Senna, Procedural Clerk, Senate Committees Directorate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 26, 2017, the committee continued its study on the impact and utilization of Canadian culture and arts in Canadian foreign policy and diplomacy, and other related matters. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 34.)


Secretariat of Foreign Affairs, Mexico:

Carlos Enríquez Verdura, Chargé d'Affaires of Culture, Deputy Director, Exhibitions and Special Projects (by video conference).

Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations, Germany:

Ronald Grätz, Secretary General (by video conference).

British Council Canada:

Mariya Afzal, Country Director.

Technical difficulties prevented the videoconference with Mr. Enríquez to take place.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Grätz made a short statement. The videoconference ended because of technical difficulties.

The chair made a statement.

At 10:58 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:01 a.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Afzal made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:49 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Marie-Eve Belzile
Clerk of the Committee