Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue No. 62 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of February 26, 2019

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 26, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 6:33 p.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Diane F. Griffin, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Dagenais, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Doyle, Duffy, Griffin, Kutcher, Maltais, Mercer, Miville-Dechêne, Moodie and Oh (11).

In attendance: Khamla Heminthavong and Offah Obale, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March1, 2018, the committee continued its study on issues relating to agriculture and forestry generally. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 47.) Topic: Support and compensation for supply managed agricultural sectors in relation to the USMCA, CPTPP and CETA Trade Agreements


Dairy Farmers of Canada:

Pierre Lampron, President;

David Wiens, Vice-President;

Reint-Jan Dykstra, Vice-President.

Les Producteurs de lait du Québec:

Alain Bourbeau, Director General.

Dairy Farmers of Ontario:

Murray Sherk, Chair.

Dairy Processors Association of Canada:

Dominique Benoit, Member of the Executive Council and Treasurer;

Mathieu Frigon, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Parmalat Canada:

Mark Taylor, Chief Executive Officer;

Anita Jarjour, Director, Government and Industry Relations.

Amalgamated Dairies Limited (ADL):

Chad Mann, Chief Executive Officer (by video conference).

The chair made a statement.

Mr.Lampron and Mr.Wiens each made statements and, together with Mr.Dykstra, Mr.Bourbeau and Mr.Sherk, answered questions.

At 7:38 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr.Frigon, Mr.Benoit, Mr.Taylor and Mr.Mann each made statements and, together with Ms.Jarjour, answered questions.

At 8:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman
Acting Clerk of the Committee