Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Issue No. 64 - Minutes of Proceedings - Meeting of April 9, 2019

OTTAWA, Tuesday, April 9, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry met this day at 6:15 p.m., in room W110, 1 Wellington St., the chair, the Honourable Diane F. Griffin, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black (Ontario), Deacon (Nova Scotia), Doyle, Griffin, Kutcher, McIntyre, Miville-Dechêne, Moodie and Oh (9).

In attendance: Corentin Bialais and Offah Obale, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 15, 2018, the committee continued its study on how the value-added food sector can be more competitive in global markets. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 47.)


Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Marco Valicenti, Director General, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Daniel Miller, Executive Director, International Programs Directorate, International Affairs Branch.

Global Affairs Canada:

Christopher Wilkie, Director General, Trade Sectors.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Doug Band, Director General, Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate;

Fred Gaspar, Director General, Commercial Program Directorate.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Andrea Johnston, Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation Canada;

Mesmin Pierre, Director General, Trade-marks Branch, Canadian Intellectual Property Office;

Iyana Goyette, Deputy Director, Trade-marks Branch, Canadian Intellectual Property Office.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Valicenti, Mr. Miller, Mr. Wilkie, Mr. Band, Mr. Gaspar, Ms. Johnston and Mr. Pierre made statements and, together with Ms. Goyette, answered questions.

At 7:50 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Kevin Pittman
Clerk of the Committee