Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 4 - Minutes of Proceedings - March 23, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, March 23, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 6:47 p.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dyck, Enverga, Moore, Patterson, Raine, Sibbeston and Tannas (8).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Watt (1).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Alexandre Lavoie, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, February 18, 2016, the committee continued its study on best practices and on-going challenges relating to housing in First Nation and Inuit communities in Nunavut, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut and the Northwest Territories. (For the complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 3.)


Conference Board of Canada:

Christopher Duschenes, Director, Northern and Aboriginal Policy.

Nunavut Housing Corporation:

Terry Audla, President and CEO;

Gershom Moyo, Vice President and CFO;

Tim Brown, Director, Policy and Strategic Planning.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Duschenes made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:54 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:01 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Audla made a statement and, together with Messrs. Moyo and Brown, answered questions.

At 9:10 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee