Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 13 - Minutes of Proceedings - November 23, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 23, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 6:48 p.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Beyak, Dyck, Enverga, Martin, Meredith, Moore, Oh, Patterson, Raine, Tannas and Watt (11).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Bovey and Lankin, P.C. (2).

In attendance: Brittany Collier, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 17, 2016, the committee continued its examination of Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration). (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 13.)


Assembly of First Nations:

Perry Bellegarde, National Chief;

Denise Stonefish, Deputy Grand Chief and Chair, Assembly of First Nations Women's Council (by video conference);

Stuart Wuttke, General Counsel.

Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC):

Lynne Groulx, Executive Director;

Francyne Joe, President;

Marilee Nowgesic, Special Advisor and Liaison.

Mr. Bellegarde, Ms. Stonefish, Ms. Joe and Ms. Nowgesic made statements and, together with Ms. Groulx and Mr. Wuttke, answered questions.

At 8:05 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:14 p.m., the committee resumed.

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Robert Bertrand, National Chief;

Frankie Cote, Senior Manager, Engagement.

Indigenous Bar Association:

Drew Lafond, MacPherson Leslie Tyerman, LLP.

Mr. Lafond made a statement and answered questions.

Mr. Bertand made a statement and, together with Mr. Cote, answered questions.

At 9:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee