Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 20 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 11, 2017

OTTAWA, Tuesday, April 11, 2017


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 9:03 a.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Christmas, Doyle, Dyck, Enverga, Hartling, Oh, Pate, Patterson, Sinclair, Tannas and Watt (11).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, December 15, 2016, the committee continued its study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 16.)


Six Nations Polytechnic:

Rebecca Jamieson, President;

Rongo H. Wetere, Consultant and Special International Advisor.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Jamieson and Mr. Wetere each made statements and answered questions

At 11:01 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee