Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 23 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 31, 2017

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 31, 2017


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Brazeau, Christmas, Doyle, Dyck, Enverga, Lovelace Nicholas, Manning, McPhedran, Mégie, Pate, Patterson, Raine, Tannas and Watt (15).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Sara Fryer, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Kate McCarthy, Stakeholder Outreach Officer, Senate Communications Directorate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, December 15, 2016, the committee continued its study on the new relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue. No. 16.)


As an individual:

Miles Richardson, Director, National Consortium for Indigenous Economic Development, University of Victoria (by video conference).

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Richardson made a statement and answered questions.

At 8:16 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 8:19 p.m., the committee resumed in camera, pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 8:32 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee