Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 54 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 14, 2019

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 14, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 9:01 a.m., in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Scott Tannas, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Christmas, Coyle, Doyle, Francis, LaBoucane- Benson, McCallum, Pate, Patterson and Tannas (9).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 2, 2019, the committee began its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Division 25 of Part 4 of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures.


Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Robert Bertrand, National Chief.

National Association of Friendship Centres:

Jocelyn Formsma, Executive Director.

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Marcel Balfour, Senior Policy Analyst.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Bertrand and Ms. Formsma each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:11 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:14 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Balfour made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:39 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille K. Aubé
Clerk of the Committee