Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Issue 56 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 5, 2019

OTTAWA, Wednesday, June 5, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples met this day at 12:33 p.m., in room W120, 1 Wellington Street, the chair, the Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Christmas, Coyle, Doyle, Dyck, Francis, Klyne, LaBoucane-Benson, Lovelace Nicholas, McCallum, Pate, Sinclair and Tannas (12).

In attendance: Brittany Collier and Marlisa Tiedemann, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 2, 2016, the committee continued its study on the federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 2.)

Topic: Indigenize the Senate


As individuals:

Trevor Dubois;

Megan Hébert-Lefebvre;

Karlee Johnson;

Jukipa Kotierk;

Aurora Leddy;

Christine Luza;

Richard Pellissier-Lush;

Taylor Morriseau.

The chair made a statement.

The youth each made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:50 p.m., the deputy chair, the Honourable Senator Tannas, took the chair.

At 2:04 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mireille K. Aubé
Clerk of the Committee