Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue No. 4 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 21, 2016

OTTAWA, Thursday, April 21, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 10:31 a.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Black, Campbell, Doyle, Greene, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Massicotte, Ringuette, Smith (Saurel), Tannas and Tkachuk (11).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Day (1).

In attendance: Brett Stuckey and Dylan Gowans, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 16, 2016, the committee continued its study on the issues pertaining to internal barriers to trade (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 2.)


Engineers Canada:

Kathryn Sutherland, Vice-president, Regulatory Affairs.

Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association:

Kurt Eby, Director, Regulatory Affairs and Government Relations.

Canadian Welding Bureau:

Craig Martin, Vice President, Office of Public Safety.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Sutherland, Mr. Eby and Mr. Martin each made statements and answered questions.

At 11:54 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon

Clerk of the Committee