Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue No. 6 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 2, 2016

OTTAWA, Thursday, June 2, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 10:32 a.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Campbell, Day, Enverga, Greene, Massicotte, Ringuette, Smith, Tannas and Tkachuk (10).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Wallin (1).

In attendance: Dylan Gowans and Brett Stuckey, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 3, 2016, the committee continued its examination of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 3, 4, 5, 6 and 10 of Part 4 of Bill C-15, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2016 and other measures.


Canadian Credit Union Association:

Chris White, Vice President, Government Relations;

Marc-André Pigeon, Director, Financial Sector Policy.

Canadian International Trade Tribunal:

Jean Bédard, Q.C., Acting Chairperson.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Darryl Larson, Director, Anti-dumping and Countervailing, Consumer Products, Programs Branch.

Department of Finance Canada:

Michèle Govier, Chief, Trade Rules, International Trade and Finance.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. White made a statement and together with Mr. Pigeon answered questions.

At 11:06 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:08 a.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Bédard and Mr. Larson each made statements and, together with Ms. Govier, answered questions.

At 11:54 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:56 a.m., the committee, pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 12:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon

Clerk of the Committee