Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue No. 13 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 8, 2017

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 8, 2017


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 4:19 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Campbell, Day, Enverga, Greene, Moncion, Plett, Ringuette, Smith, Tannas, Tkachuk, Wallin and Wetston (13).

In attendance: Michaël Lambert-Racine and Brett Capstick, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Monday, November 28, 2016, the committee continued its examination of Bill S-224, An Act respecting payments made under construction contracts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 12.)


National Trade Contractors Coalition of Canada:

John Blair, Chair of the Prompt Payment Committee.

Corporation of Master Pipe Mechanics of Quebec:

Steve Boulanger, Deputy Director-General.

Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada:

Del Pawliuk, President;

Dan Leduc, Council Member.

Canadian Institute of Steel Construction:

Edward Whalen, President and CEO.

Canadian Automatic Sprinkler Association:

John Galt, President.

Electrical Contractors Association of Ontario:

Dan Lancia, President;

Jeff Koller, Executive Director and Board Member, Canadian Electrical Contractors Association;

Bill McKee, Board Member and President, Carleton Electric.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Blair, Mr. Boulanger and Mr. Pawliuk each made a statement and, together with Mr. Leduc, answered questions.

At 5:23 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:26 p.m., the committee resumed.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Whalen, Mr. Galt and Mr. Koller each made a presentation and, together with Mr. McKee and Mr. Lancia, answered questions.

At 6:23 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon

Clerk of the Committee