Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue No. 13 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 9, 2017

OTTAWA, Thursday, February 9, 2017


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 10:32 a.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable David Tkachuk, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black, Day, Enverga, Greene, Massicotte, Moncion, Plett, Ringuette, Smith, Tannas, Tkachuk, Wallin and Wetston (13).

In attendance: Michaël Lambert-Racine and Brett Capstick, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Monday, November 28, 2016, the committee continued its examination of Bill S-224, An Act respecting payments made under construction contracts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 12.)


The Honourable Steven MacKinnon, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Public Services and Procurement.


Public Services and Procurement Canada:

Kevin Radford, Assistant Deputy Minister, Real Property Branch;

David Schwartz, Director General, Commercial and Alternative Acquisitions Management Sector, Procurement Branch.

Aecon Group Inc.:

Yonni Fushman, Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel.

As an individual:

Ted Betts, Partner, Head of Infrastructure and Construction, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP.

The chair made a statement.

The Parliamentary Secretary made a statement and, together with Mr. Radford and Mr. Schwartz, answered questions.

At 11:26 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:29 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Fushman and Mr. Betts each made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:08 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:10 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that senators' staff be allowed to stay in the room.

At 12:20 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon

Clerk of the Committee