Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Issue No. 57 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 15, 2019

OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 15, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce met this day at 4:15 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Douglas Black, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Black (Alberta), Dagenais, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Duffy, Duncan, Marshall, Stewart Olsen, Verner, P.C., Wallin and Wetston (10).

In attendance: Brett Stuckey and Adriane Yong, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 2, 2019, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 1, 5 and 26 of Part 4, and in Subdivision A of Division 2 of Part 4 of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 56.)


Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals:

Jean-Daniel Breton, Corporate Practice Committee (by video conference).

Canadian Bond Investors Association:

Joe Morin, Past Chair (by video conference);

Raj Sahni, Partner, Bennett Jones LLP (by video conference).

Council of Canadians with Disabilities:

Steven Estey, Government and Community Relations Officer.

Transparency International Canada:

Denis Meunier, Director.

United Steelworkers:

Alex D. McKinnon, Department Leader, Research, Public Policy and Bargaining Support, Canadian National Office (by video conference).

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Breton and Mr. Morin made statements and, together with Mr. Sahni and Mr. Estey, answered questions.

At 5:11 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:40 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Meunier and Mr. McKinnon made statements and answered questions.

At 6:18 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon
Clerk of the Committee