Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Issue No. 7 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 5, 2016

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 5, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 8 a.m., in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable Richard Neufeld, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Johnson, MacDonald, Massicotte, Mockler, Neufeld, Patterson, Ringuette and Seidman (8).

In attendance: Marc LeBlanc and Sam Banks, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The chair informed the committee of a vacancy in the deputy chair and presided over the election of the deputy chair.

The Honourable Senator Mockler moved:

That the Honourable Senator Massicotte be deputy chair of this committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

The deputy chair made a statement.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 10, 2016, the committee continued its study on the effects of transitioning to a low carbon economy. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 4.)


Canadian Electricity Association:

Sergio Marchi, President and CEO;

Devin McCarthy, Director, Generation and Environment.

Capital Power:

Martin Kennedy, Vice President, External Affairs.

Nova Scotia Power Inc.:

Terry Toner, Director, Environmental Services.

Canadian Biogas Association:

Jennifer Green, Executive Director;

Kevin Matthews, Director;

Donald Beverly, Director.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Marchi, Mr. Kennedy and Mr. Toner made a statement and, together with Mr. McCarthy, answered questions.

At 9:07 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:09 a.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Green made a statement and, together with Mr. Beverly and Mr. Matthews, answered questions.

At 9:59 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Lynn Gordon

Clerk of the Committee