Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Issue No. 56 - Minutes of Proceedings - February 26, 2019

OTTAWA, Tuesday, February 26, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 6:27 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Rosa Galvez, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Bellemare, Carignan, P.C., Cordy, Frum, Galvez, LaBoucane-Benson, MacDonald, Massicotte, McCallum, Mitchell, Mockler, Patterson, Pratte, Richards, Seidman, Simons, Tkachuk and Woo (18).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Busson, Dalphond, Deacon (Nova Scotia), Deacon (Ontario), Forest-Niesing, Gold, Griffin, Kutcher, McCoy, Omidvar, Pate, Stewart Olsen, Tannas, Wallin and Wetston (15).

In attendance: Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, December 12, 2018, the committee continued to examine Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 54.)


Government of Ontario:

The Honourable Greg Rickford, M.P.P., Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines.

Mining Association of Canada:

Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Justyna Laurie-Lean, Vice-President, Environment and Regulatory Affairs.

Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada:

Lisa McDonald, Executive Director;

Lesley Williams, Director of Policy.

Canadian Hydropower Association (WaterPower Canada):

Anne-Raphaëlle Audouin, President;

Pierre Lundahl, Chief Consultant.

The minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:38 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:44 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Gratton, Ms. McDonald and Ms. Audouin made statements and, together with Mr. Lundahl, Ms. Williams and Ms. Laurie-Lean, answered questions.

At 8:50 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:15 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Gratton, Mr. Lundahl, Ms. Audouin, Ms. Laurie-Lean and Ms. Williams answered questions.

At 9:23 p.m., the Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Frum as a member of the committee.

At 9:40 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:43 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee proceeded in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 9:47 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:49 p.m., the committee resumed in public.

The Honourable Senator Woo moved that the committee do now adjourn.

The question being put on the motion, it was negatived by a show of hands.

At 10:01 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:16 p.m., the Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C., as a member of the committee.

At 10:19 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 10:19 p.m., the Honourable Senator Pratte replaced the Honourable Senator Massicotte as a member of the committee.

The Honourable Senator Simons moved that the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure meet to fine-tune the travel plan, taking into consideration all of the issues discussed at the meeting.

The Honourable Senator Cordy moved that the motion be amended after the word "meet,'' by adding the following:

"before the Senate rises this week.''

It was agreed that the motion in amendment be adopted.

At 10:49 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin
Clerk of the Committee